Williston State won their second consecutive NJCAA Hockey Championship 9 years ago today on Sunday, February 23rd 2014 with a 2-0 win over Monroe CC (N.Y.) at Robert M. Conway Ice Rink.

Williston State limited the Tribunes to only 13 shots in the championship game against a Monroe College club that had not been shut out all season. Tyler Ampe, a sophomore goalie for the Tetons and the tournament's MVP, achieved his second straight shutout by keeping Williston State's NJCAA final opponents scoreless.

With 12:29 left in the first period, Williston State led 1-0 thanks to a goal by Tetons freshman forward Tyler Cavan, who received assists from freshmen forwards Eric Behrend and Cole Sonstebo. With a goal by freshman forward Trevor Hunt and an assist from sophomore forward Dario Torres, Williston State increased its lead to 2-0 at the 7:38 mark of the second period.

The Tetons clinched the championship with a win over Monroe CC for the second
straight year. Williston State defeated the Tribunes 3-2 in the 2013 title game.

With their title win, Williston State finished their campaign with a 15-11-3 record. The Tribunes lost for just the second time this year and the first time since November, dropping their record to 22-2-1.

In the semifinal game on Saturday, Williston State defeated Erie (N.Y.) 7-0 to start their championship run. Sonstebo, who scored two goals and provided an assist, was the Tetons' offensive leader. Ampe contributed seven saves to the clean sheet.

Joining Ampe on the all-tournament team were fellow Williston State teammates Cavan, Hunt and Sonstebo. The Tribunes rounded out the all-tournament selections with sophomore defenseman Taylor Weilert and freshman forward Dominik Gabaj.

KEYZ AM 660 logo
Get our free mobile app

8 Great Hockey Rinks In North Dakota

The 8 BEST Hockey Rinks in North Dakota

More From KEYZ AM 660